Summer is here and that means in addition to enduring suffocating humidity and vitamin D rays of death, the great video game drought is quickly approaching. And while I may be slightly exaggerating,  as there are constantly new and intriguing games being released, the plethora of AAA offerings that we are spoiled with at the beginning of the year routine halts during the summer months. This makes summer an ideal time to tackle my ever expanding back catalog of both new and classic games that I have neglected to finish or never got around to starting. Often the later. 

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 12.04.17 PM

Now, as my back catalog is already quite large I have decided to implement a rule of sorts to help narrow the selection of games I’ll be attempting to complete. The rule is simple; I will only play single player games, excluding open-world. Not to throw shade to open world games (Check my review of Horizon Zero Dawn), it’s that I already dedicate an exorbitant amount of time during the rest of the year to games of this nature and would rather tackle shorter story-centric games.

Some of the games on my list are more recent than others, and some I have already started and just need to grind through a few more levels to complete, but regardless my plate is already quite full. 

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 12.01.01 PM

With that being said, I’d encourage you all to take five or ten minutes to rack your brain for games you either abandoned before completing due to time constraints or those you’ve simply neglected to ever start. 

Summer 2017 Back Catalog

Titan Fall 2, The Evil Within, Dishonored 2, Life Is Strange: Episode 5, SOMA, Alan Wake’s American Nightmare, System Shock 2, The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape From Butcher Bay, Planescape: Torment, and surely several more whose titles that currently elude me. 

